Handling the Business

I think it’s safe for a writer to say that it’s pretty much ALWAYS frustrating when you are trying to get your name and work out there.  It’s not there is no ‘easy’ way because I think if you’re willing to pursue a dream you get over the ‘easy’ aspect of it pretty quickly.  Easy means different things to different people but all in all, there is rarely much EASY when it comes to your dreams.  Even if you have a quick ascension it usually means you’ll have an equally quick fall, which doesn’t really help a whole lot.

Lately I am frustrated with a lot of the way that things have gone as far as publishing. It’s frustrating that self publishing is still looked down upon so fervently yet the established publishers make it so hard to reach them. Trying to get published is a maze of waste and disappointment.

My mind boggles when I read about a place wanting me to sum up every chapter of my book and submit that with a synopsis.

Why?

That’s so wasteful.

On time and resources.

Here’s my thought – have writers query with who they are, what they want, and what they have to offer you. You look through it and if it hits your curiosity button then you ask for more, if not, you thank them and move on. And let’s get past physical subs unless its an entire manuscript, which should only go to someone if they are really, really interested. Otherwise it’s sheer waste. I get that some people hate tech, well, get over it. You can get your email on tablet PCs, phones, all manner of devices so why waste all that paper and postage and honestly, time.

And that is what kills me is the waste of time on the writer’s side. I get that publishers want what they want and me fuming about closed minds and closed doors is not going to change things, but jeepers, the time of the writer is valuable, just as valuable as anyone else’s. We have day jobs, families, loved ones, and expecting us to research your magazines, your companies, to do hours and hours of work to get impersonal rejections with no tips, pointers, or even interest is ridiculous. Again, let’s keep things to email. That way you can get the submission query, and if people don’t like it they can shoot a quick email back and thank them and move on.

No muss, no fuss.

It gets crummy when you research, mail things off, and wait weeks for a Thanks But No Thanks form letter. It is just rude and shortsighted. You never know what writer will some day get picked up and become a brand name and the company will wish they’d been a little kinder.

Kindness counts. And if I can take a chance on you by offering my work, you can be polite and thank me for that time and not waste my time. It’s the least that can be done. If you are so swamped that you can’t do it then have an assistant do it and be thankful for the work.

And with that it’s time the publishers start opening their minds more. Take chances. But take chances on smaller scales. Embrace e-publishing and embrace new and emerging writers. Give them their chance. Give them a cut of the sales and market it to some degree and if they move books, then give them a longer look and if they don’t then you part ways knowing each side gave it a shot. Ebooks are blowing up and this is a way to open digital niche arms and to discover new voices.

It’s time for change.

It’s time for the publishers to pay writers, to appreciate them, and to realize that they work symbiotically and need one another. It’s time that was understood and honored.

Me, I am at a place where I am a whisper in a storm, but I am trying to find my voice, to scream to the hills of these amazing books I have written and to have people share in the stories I have written, but for now I am patiently waiting for the winds to change so I can be heard above the noise. I believe in the future of writing and publishing but there’s a lot of change that has to keep happening and I just hope I can ride that change out and find a way to hang on, like so many others.

Bookswww.meepsheep.com

Leave a Reply

